Book Reviews

Book Review: The Rosie Project

17281240

Synopsis (goodreads):

Narrator Don Tillman 39, Melbourne genetics prof and Gregory Peck lookalike, sets a 16-page questionnaire The Wife Project to find a non-smoker, non-drinker ideal match. But Rosie and her Father Project supersede. The spontaneous always-late smoker-drinker wants to find her biological father. She resets his clock, throws off his schedule, and turns his life topsy-turvy.

Review:

Where to begin with this book! I’ve been wanting to read this book since last year and every time I go to the bookstore to get it, I end up buying other books! The struggle! So, when I went to the bookstore and found it on sales, I decided to finally get it because I just need to. Anyway, enough of me blabbering and let’s get into the real stuff, the actual review.

How addictive was this book?


Reading the Rosie project was a lovely journey, It’s a fun and quirky love story, It’s laugh-out-loud funny and unexpectedly touching.
Don is a wonderfully offbeat narrative character and Rosie is his perfect match. I think one of the reasons the story is so appealing is that it’s written by a man, from a man’s perspective, and he just did a great job at it. Don is one of the quirkiest male characters I have read in a long time.

I enjoyed the book so much and I read it in a good time because I’ve been in a book slump and I needed something to pull me out of this slump, and surprisingly this book did the magic.

I loved the quirky writing style, it definitely added an extra oomph to the book. The concept of the plot was  was so unique and weird at the same time. I loved that the whole book was written from Don’s POV because I spent the entire time inside his head, trying to fully understand him, but I couldn’t, however, that wasn’t a let down for me because it’s impossible to fully understand a human being; we are complicated creatures. But, I have to admit that he have an Incredible way of thinking; the whole process of the wife project was amazing and fun and it made sense at the same time to have such project, and you can’t help but fall in love with him and then Rosie and  Claudia and even Gene, you cannot not fall in love with them. 

The only downside is that, yes, some parts were a little bit technical for me, so I was bored through out these parts.

However, the book is beautifully written, contain lovely characters and the ending just killed me. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and I do recommend it, and yes I do want it to be turned into a movie because it will be a very fun and funny movie.

 

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

