Book Reviews

Book Review: A Christmas Carol

20821023

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Cruel miser Ebeneezer Scrooge has never met a shilling he doesn’t like…and hardly a man he does. And he hates Christmas most of all. When Scrooge is visited by his old partner, Jacob Marley, and the ghosts of Christmas Past, Christmas Present, and Christmas Yet to Come, he learns eternal lessons of charity, kindness, and goodwill. Experience a true Victorian Christmas.

Review:

This year was the first time I read A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickinson and as a huge Dickinson fan, I feel ashamed that it took me this long to read this book, but it’s never too late, and I can safely say that I loved this book so much as it’s not consists only of good story but it has a great lesson as well. And I do agree that it’s a perfect Christmas\winter read, even better than Harry Potter and I am a potter fan.

It’s hard to read this book without feel warm and fuzzy from the inside by the end of it.

This is a simple and beautiful story of redemption and it’s hard to not love it. The writing style is poetic and enjoyable and while reading, I never felt out of the story, I was so engaged and absorbed in it.

At first, one might not notice the deeper self-analysis that might be noticed by more attentive readers – or simply in those who are seeking such a message as time and life itself seem to toughen our feelings and our reaction’s to people’s actions.

This book made me reflect on myself even though I consider myself nothing like Scrooge, however, I guess I am to blame for overlooking the basics of life and how to treat people sometimes, and that what I love about reading: it reminds to be a better person and I love learning and absorbing these lessons. 

Dickinson writing is so evocative and his story, while it’s set in 1843 London Town, is timeless and no matter how old, no matter how your lousy childhood or lousy adulthood you have, there is always hope and there is always a chance for redemption.

I honestly have no idea how to review this book properly because for me this book isn’t about world building and the pace of the book. It’s about the message the book communicates and it’s indeed a powerful message. Just read the book.

For more pictures, follow me on instagram: @mooni.93

Rating: 5\5 stars

3 thoughts on “Book Review: A Christmas Carol

  1. Some astute widely read individuals say this novella is his greatest work.
    It certainly is a triumph of the human spirit and expounds the greatest theme ever devised by man.
    ‘You were always a good man of business Jacob ‘ faultered Scrooge.
    ‘Business ‘ cried the Ghost , wringing its hands
    ‘ Mankind was my business. The common welfare was my business.
    Charity , mercy , foreberance and benevolence were all my business.’
    No wonder Charles Dickens reformed Victorian London.
    Some may be surprized that ghosts figure highly in the story and the purest may argue he leans towards spritualism. For my part he reaches the very height of imaginative perfectionism, and at the same time makes a simple point.

    Like

    1. I totally agree with you! You’re absolutely right. It’s one of his greatest work, but I love A tale of two cities as well and I totally recommend it for everyone because people think that Dickens is a hard author to read for, but it’s not he just have a unique beautiful and unusual way of writing, and he is one of my favorite authors ever.

      Like

  2. Readers think he is too slow and drawn out. They crave action and excitement.
    Dickens is like a fine wine you need to supp him slowly to enjoy the essense of his prose.
    After saying Jacob is as dead as a door nail he comments:
    ‘I might have been inclined myself , to regard a coffin- nail as the deadest piece of ironmongery in the trade.’
    Wonderful stuff a story in itself he goes on:
    ‘But the wisdom of our ancestors is in the simile; and my unhallowed hands shall not disturb it, or thr countrys done for.’
    I stopped to burst out laughing it’s unbelievable , the perfect stand alone minature. There is no writer quite like it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

