Book Reviews

Book Review: Precious Stone Trilogy

88353791725405517620267

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

Review:

P.S. I am making a review on the entire trilogy because I don’t have much to say on every book.

Going into this book, I was so excited because it was one of the most hyped book at the time I read it. However, I had my doubts about it as well because it was about time traveling and I am not fan of books with time traveling in them (I don’t know why!). Anyway, I ignored my hunch and decided to buy the entire trilogy and read them anyway because I was so sure that I will love them. Well, that didn’t happen, for I didn’t like the trilogy at all and here is why:

1- the beginning of the book was okay, not strong enough to hook me into the trilogy, but it sounded promising at least an upon that I decided to give the trilogy a shot because what do I have to loose other than valuable hours that I will not be able to retrieve!

2- Gwen, oh Gwen! I didn’t like Gwen at all as a main protaginst and through out the trilogy, I didn’t feel that she actually developed and grew as a character as much as I wanted to see, and that didn’t happen at all. She was fickle minded, coward sometimes, she was so childish through out most of book one and I couldn’t connect with her at all.

3- Gideon. He is one of my least favorite male characters of all time. I hate him with burning passion! He is so selfish and mean and cocky and I couldn’t like him at all and through out the trilogy, his character was developed to the worst.

4- The plot started good and organized, however, things started to become confusing and boring in book two and three. I found that the events are really dragged and stretched just to increase the pages.

5-I didn’t like the romance at all. It felt very forced and not spontaneous at all. I could not ship them as a couple because they both don’t make sense to me as two individual characters. I find both of them lack personality and together they are not good.

6- I didn’t like the family dynamic at all and I felt that it was fake and phony and I think they were portrayed like this on purpose because they definitely not a sweet nice normal family, they were dysfunctional, but it wasn’t done right in my opinion that it was very frustrating.

7- I didn’t like how the time traveling was done. I felt that it was so overdone and exaggerated, which made the entire book sound really pretentious and slightly fake. I felt like the characters were like robots and each had to do their part of the story and the majority of the time, I didn’t feel their emotions, I couldn’t connect with the story and the characters at all.

8- the ending was not surprising at all, and I predict it, which took away the element of being surprised and shocked!

However, one of the things that I enjoyed the most was designing the different costumes and that studio sounded really nice and awesome.

For more pictures, follow me on instagram: @mooni.93

Rating:

Ruby Red: 2.5\5 stars

Sapphire Blue: 2\5 stars

Emerald Green: 1\5 stars

 

Leave a Reply

