Book Reviews

Book Review: The Catcher in the Rye

7933650

Synopsis (Goodreads):

“…the first thing you’ll probably want to know is where I was born and what my lousy childhood was like, and how my parents were occupied and all before they had me, and all that David Copperfield kind of crap, but I don’t feel like going into it, if you want to know the truth. In the first place, that stuff bores me, and in the second place, my parents would have about two hemorrhages apiece if I told anything pretty personal about them.”

Review:

I read this book because of the hype around it and I wanted to see where I stand when it comes to it because it’s either it hit or miss.

I went into this book excited, expecting a life changing book because it’s a modern classic and a great deal of people seem to be so utterly in love with it. While those who were forced to read it for school for example seem to have mixed opinion but, what I noticed that the majority are not a fan of the book, and I am with that group.

I didn’t like the book. In the beginning, I found the book intriguing and the narration was nice and somewhat calming. However, as I continued reading, I found the main character is really unreliable as a narrator, which I think it was done intentionally. But, I really didn’t like the main character and I couldn’t connect with him, and it’s not an age issue or anything, it’s more of mentality thing. I found the main protaginst really fickle-minded and hypocrite. He would think one thing and act in a different way, and that just frustrated me. He was really mean as well, and he really annoyed me as a character, however, he has really have a cool name! Holden Caulfield.

Holden became a symbol for teenagers and rebellion and that he perfectly represented the coming of age phase that teenagers go through, and I understand the significance and the importance of the book. However, because I didn’t click with character, I didn’t really enjoy the book.

The problem with the book is that it’s told from a very narrow point of view and you only get to see the characters from Holden’s POV and so you don’t get a broad definition and you don’t get to understand the other characters that appear through out the book and even if you read them, you only read them from his POV and so you end up with a negative opinion on them because to Holden, everything is phony and fake.

Through out the book, I kept waiting for a big event, a twist, a turning point, a big finale, but none of that happened!! the book was so monotonic and it continued to be like this through out the book and it was so boring.

Again, I understand why some people consider this book as a great book, but I couldn’t connect with the character or the events.

For more pictures, follow me on instagram: @mooni.93

Rating: 2\5 stars

Leave a Reply

