Book Reviews

Book Review: Mr. Penumbra’s 24-hours Bookstore

13538873

Synopsis (Goodreads):

The Great Recession has shuffled Clay Jannon away from life as a San Francisco web-design drone and into the aisles of Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore. But after a few days on the job, Clay discovers that the store is more curious than either its name or its gnomic owner might suggest. The bookstore’s secrets extend far beyond its walls.

Review:

This book is one of the books that my friend recommended to me, and at first for some stupid reason, I was hesitant, but as soon as I started reading it, all my hesitation and doubts evaporated because I was hooked from the first page.

This book speak to us and about us, bibliophiles, but in an awkward quirky way.

This story was so positive and totally changed my mood. While reading this book, I never felt that the horrible feeling that you get while reading a great book, and then wonder if the author is going to screw everything up, I never felt that. The greatness and and the awesomeness was consistent through out the book.

There were moments is the books I felt a wave of exciting panic, and I was like, “OMG, what will happen next” and I was terrified to turn up the page to see what will happen. However, I had a feeling deep down inside that the book will not end badly, and when I reached the ending, I was so happy how things turned up to be.

As a person who love learning with every possible chance, I learned a lot from this book because when reading you are constantly learning new things through the decisions of people, by taking on new perspectives, but in this book I actually learned new facts and things! It felt like I was picking up interesting knowledge and it kept me excited to read.

I don’t enjoy mystery a lot but, the mystery in this book was well crafted and done, and through out the first part, I kept wondering what with these old people, what are in these books! I wanted to know and so I couldn’t put the book down because I NEEDED to know!

I loved the using of the settings and how they incorporated different worlds from different books into this book, and I loved how Google played a part in unveiling the mystery. That part was great to read.

The characters were so complex and fascinating and none of them felt flat, and there were so many of them! We had so many different secondary characters constantly being introduced but the writing never made them feel unnecessary. On the contrary, they played an important part in making the story move forward. The book had various levels of interaction with people, which was new and great because sometimes, authors don’t balance between the importance of a main character and a secondary one.

I loved how the book mixed between the older technology and the new one, older the generation and the new one, older way of thinking and the new one. The balance was greatly done.

I loved the main character because he felt real! He acted like a normal person act and I just loved him. He was clueless in some parts, but he was always trying his best, and that all I want in a character.

I had so much fun reading this book and I will reread it in the future for sure. Highly recommend.

Rating: 5\5 stars

Leave a Reply

