My Writings

My All Time Favorite Books!

2292beb87089a4cd70c17c0991f72e74

If you clicked on the link thinking that I am going to give you a list of my all time favorite books, then you might get disappointed because it’s going to absolutely the opposite.

Few days ago, I was looking at my bookshelves and my eyes fell on some of my all time favorite books. But, what I realized is that I never talked about them with anyone, and as I kept thinking about it, I came to the conclusion that I hate recommending my all time favorite books to people, and here is why.

When I recommend a favorite book of mine, I am giving you a peace of me. So, by telling you that, I am giving you a glimpse into a private part of my soul because when I read a favorite book, I connect with a character or two. So, sometimes, I don’t desire for people to know that about me and so I don’t recommend a favorite book of mine.

Another reason is ruining the book. A favorite book isn’t a 5-stars book to me. It’s a book that I connect with on so many levels, a book I relate to, and by recommending that book to a friend, I can’t expect that they will have the same feeling. They might hate it for all I know, and I know that I shouldn’t care about that because readers are different and we all look for different things in a book. Thus, we won’t have the same reading experience. So, if some one hated a book I loved and adored, I will get hurt because in my eyes, that book is perfect and for someone to come and strip that book from its perfect elements is really hurtful.

I am selfish! I know it’s an invalid reason, but I am selfish when it come to my favorite books. To make it more clear, let’s say that these books are my husbands and as far as I know, there is no woman want to share her husband with another woman…or a man. I know, it’s a weird example, but I think it convey the message perfectly.

To put in perspective, my all time favorite books are gates into parts of my soul that I don’t want people to know about, not because I am ashamed of them, but because I like to keep them to myself. The world don’t have to know every detail about me. Therefore, I recommend my second favorite books to anyone who ask me. I know it’s weird but this way I am protecting myself and my favorite books from the hate that they may get from people.

My friend can be reading or read some of my all time favorite books, but I will never tell her it’s one of them.

Leave a Reply

