Book Reviews

Book Review: Once Upon a Time: A Collection of Classic Fairy Tales

13049647

Synopsis (Goodreads):

This beautifully illustrated collection of 30 tales from far and wide includes…

Snow White
Hansel and Grethel
Cinderella
The Frog Prince
Rumpelstiltskin
The Bremen Town Musicians
The Elves
Little Red Cap
The Fisherman and His Wife
The Sleeping Beauty
Tom Thumb
Rapunzel. . . and many more.
“Once upon a time . . .”

Four simple words that, after more than two centuries, still have the ability to transport readers to lands of mystery, intrigue, and betrayal, life and death, love and abandon. Timeless are the tales of the Brothers Grimm who, in an effort to preserve native folklore, unwittingly crafted a cornerstone of Western literature.

With this book of fairy tales, beautifully illustrated by artist Kevin Tong, reacquaint yourself with the stories and characters you know and love. Run through the forest with Little Red Cap. Attend the ball with Cinderella. Eat an apple with Snow White. From witches to fairies, evil queens to kindly kings, frog princes and sleeping beauties, the Grimm tales are classics that are truly meant to be shared with young and old alike.

Review:

I read this collection of fairy tales last month and I enjoyed it for the most part.

Reviewing this book is kind of hard because it’s not one consistent story, it’s a collection of different fairy tales and so what I did is that I gave every book a different rating in my mind.

the fairy tales I wanted to read the most were the classic ones: Snow White, Cinderella and the Sleeping Beauty, and oh boy! They are nothing like what Disney made them because if they made them the way they are originally written, they won’t attract children and no parent would allow their children to see them. Therefore, I understand why Disney twisted them and add their own happy magical touch.

Although some of the stories were gory and very bloody, I couldn’t not enjoy reading them. In general, fairy tales are all about Karma. So, what goes around come back around and this is what always happens in fairy tales; the bad guy always loses in the end and I love that!

Although these fairy tales can be too bloody for children to read, they carry a great moral within them. They teach children to face their fears and with courage they can defeat them. The bad people in the fairy tales represent a child’s fears and so when the main protaginst defeat the antagonist, the child in his mind will believe that he can do it as well. And so, fairy tales can be great for children and have a powerful influence.

In this book every fairy tale carried it own moral, and although the morals and lessons were great, I can’t say that I enjoyed reading all of them. I found myself rather being bored reading some of them.

When I saw the book for the first time, I thought that the book is Once A Upon Time’s twists on fairy tales because I don’t watch the TV show (I find the 3D graphics so bad for a TV show that’s been produced in the past few years!) and so I don’t know much about it. However, it ended up being the same ones from the Grimm Brothers book. So, that was kind of disappointing.

Another thing that was disappointing is the illustrations. Although they were beautiful, there wasn’t enough of them! I wanted to see more illustrations and sadly, the book didn’t contain much of them.

Overall, the book was fun to read and I enjoyed the majority of it. The two fairy tales that struck the most and I kept reading them over and over are The Almond Tree and Rumpelstiltskin. I just loved these two so much. Definitely my favorite new ones out of the bunch.

Do I recommend it? YES! Do read it or instead you can invest in buying the Grimm Brothers book and read that. But, read some fairy tales because they are not stories for kids as some people claims. They are timeless and suit any age.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

