Book Reviews

Book Review: The Bad Beginning

78411

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Are you made fainthearted by death? Does fire unnerve you? Is a villain something that might crop up in future nightmares of yours? Are you thrilled by nefarious plots? Is cold porridge upsetting to you? Vicious threats? Hooks? Uncomfortable clothing?

It is likely that your answers will reveal A Series of Unfortunate Events to be ill-suited for your personal use. A librarian, bookseller, or acquaintance should be able to suggest books more appropriate for your fragile temperament. But to the rarest of readers we say, “Proceed, but cautiously.”

Review:

Reading this book was the last thing I had in my mind because a) it’s a 13 books series b) it’s a children series, which I don’t mind but, it’s a big series (13 books!). However, I read book one, and I was hooked! I honestly couldn’t put it down because it was a very small, and I was hooked from the first page.

Let me start with the writing style because it was what it hooked me to the book the most. I LOVED the writing style so much! I honestly felt like Lemony Snicket was talking to me, telling me the story himself. He had a very powerful voice and through his writing, he translated that voice into magical words written on the pages. I loved throwing words meaning here and there, which showed that the book is actually for kids and the author is just doing his best in explaining the meanings of the words that kids might find hard to understand. I just loved that.

I loved the sarcasm in the book, it was just so good and funny. I admire the way that this book is treating its target readers, who are supposedly are children, like sophisticated readers and not kids.

The best kind of children books in my opinion, are the ones that when an adult reads them, he don’t feel like he is reading a children’s book, like in Harry Potter (book one and two). In my opinion, although this book is written for children, it’s suitable for all the ages and all kind of readers.

Now, let’s move into the characters. The three Baudlaire orphans. These three children are just so adorable and so genius and smart and everything a good character should be. It’s not hard to love them and just sympathize and feel for everything they go through. I was rooting for them from the very beginning and I just hate how things ends badly for them in every book, but hey, it’s called the series of unfortunate events, so don’t expect something fortunate to happen.

Now, let’s talk about the name of the series, the Series of Unfortunate Events. Well, I didn’t find it unfortunate as much as I found it frustrating. Oh my god! Count Olaf is the worst character I have ever read in my entire life!!! I hate him so much. I can safely say that he is as bad as Lord Voldemort, which say a lot on his personality. This character is the most greedy character I’ve ever read in a book and even though I felt like throwing the book across the wall every time Count Olaf came into the page, I fought the urge to do so (if you read the series, you will know what I am talking about), which means that Lemony Snicket made a great job in writing such an evil character that you will love to hate for sure!

The descriptions! This book was filled with so much vivid descriptions that you can’t just not admire. The attention to the teeny tiny details, makes the book really real, and you can fully immerse yourself in the book, and just enjoy it.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

