Book Reviews

Book Review: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour

7664334

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

Review:

This is my second Morgan Matson book, and I can safely say that I am not a fan of her books. I read Second Chance Summer a year ago, and I didn’t like that book at all.

Although this book is slightly better than Second Chance Summer as the premise of the book promised more, and sounded more fun, I still didn’t like it. I enjoyed the scribbles on the pages, and the hand-written playlists, and the pictures. All these stuff, added a personal touch to the book that made the reading process more fun.

The concept of a book about two people going on a road trip, and through that road trip, they discover and get to know each other sounded to me like it will be a perfect fun read. Also, all the hype surrounding the book, made it sound like it will be an epic contemporary, and a lot of people agree with that as a lot of people fell in love with it. However, I am in the minority who didn’t like it or love it.

I got bored from page 50 and I lost interest in the characters and their story. I found the whole road trip concept was pointless and by the end of the book, nothing very important and significant was achieved! (This my opinion).

I found the book chronologically fast. All the events happens over the course of two weeks, and in the beginning of the book, Amy had lots of problems, some are serious. But, by the end of the two weeks, all the problems were solved, which doesn’t make sense to me! It wasn’t right. A boy doesn’t fix all the problem.

Now, let’s speak about Amy for a little bit. In my honest opinion, I found that Amy’s character was cliched and annoying. She was mostly like any other character I read in any cliched contemporary novel. She is the typical depressed character who her father died, and she constantly blaming herself for his death even though it’s clear that she had nothing to do with it. Nothing! I don’t mind a sad, depressed character who have a lot of baggage, but, Amy’s character wasn’t that much deep in my opinion, and I couldn’t feel for her of connect with her. Maybe if she was written in a different way, I would’ve liked her more. But, in general, I found her really shallow and boring.

Also, I kept questioning a lot of the stuff that happened between Amy and Roger. I kept wondering if some stuff were necessary to know or to happen. Also, the book was SO predictable! Everything was so cliched in a very boring way. I understand that it’s a cute read and all, but it was cliched in a very boring way!

I found myself struggling through most of the book and partly because of the writing style. I can safely and surely say that I am not a fan of Matson’s writing.

Another thing that I sensed is that the book was empty, and that emptiness was filled with drama that didn’t necessarily added much to the book, like the constant mentioning of her father in almost every page. I get that this event is a very important thing in her life, but  at the same, I felt like it was used a filler to fill the empty parts of the book.

In general, I didn’t like this book, I didn’t like the characters or the romance between them. But, as I said, I liked the playlists, the scribbles on the pages and the picture. Also, I enjoyed the secondary characters, they were way more interesting than the main characters, and they made the book more bearable and interesting. I loved getting to know all the places that they went to. But, if you are looking for something with a lot of depth, then I would recommend that you read something like the Sea of Tranquility or the Paris Wife.

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour

Leave a Reply

