Book Reviews

Book Review: Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda

19547856

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

Review:

This was such a fun read, let me start by saying this. I devoured this book in one day because I honestly couldn’t put it down. What a lovely, refreshing read!

getting into this book, I was skeptical because it’s a very hyped book and everyone seem to absolutely love it. So, because of that I was kinda scared but excited because I knew that it would be a fun read eventually.

The first 100 pages were okay, not much exciting stuff happened except for the blackmailing. and for the first 100 pages, I kept wondering why are people going crazy over this book! Because even though I was enjoying it, nothing important or exciting was happening; it sounded like an empty plot and uneventful story. And even though I kept turning the pages to know what will happen, I wasn’t too excited or engaged in the story itself. However, things changed after the 100th page and the events started to pick up and I found myself more engaged and wanted to know what will happen next.

Guessing the Identity of Blue was exciting, and I honestly didn’t see it coming. It was a surprise when Blue has finally revealed himself. I made lots of guesses, but none of them was right, but nonetheless, I enjoyed guessing.

Now, let’s talk about our main character, Simon. I liked Simon to an extent. He is a mixture funny, sarcastic and serious. But, at the same time, I found him frustrating and whinny a little bit. But, overall, he was a good character, and a fun one. I loved his family dynamic, they were so funny and I found myself laughing every time they come up into page. It’s fun to see the parents involved in the life of the their teenager son because if one thing is missing from the YA contemporary novels, is that involvement. Somehow, in these novels, the parents are always missing, and they are rarely mentioned and that’s just annoying and unrealistic to me. Therefore, I was glad to see that the parents were involved in Simon’s life.

Now, let’s talk about the things that I didn’t like. Language, the language is the first thing that I focus on when I start reading any book because if the language didn’t pull me into the story, then I will lose interest eventually. In this book, the language was okay, but what annoyed the most is the cussing. I noticed that in YA contemporary, there is a lot of cussing and it doesn’t add anything to the story or the character’s personality, it just increase the word count. I saw this a lot in Winger, and now this one, although it’s not as much as it’s in Winger. So, yeah, that’s one thing I didn’t like. it makes the character look childish and immature.

Another criticism I have about the book is that the book dealt with a very deep issue that a lot of people a round the world deal with. Even though we got to see Simon struggling with accepting who he is and the fear that his family, friends and the environment surrounding him won’t accept him for who he is, I still believe that the book only scratched the surface and didn’t dive into the whole thing. As a fun, cute, fluffy read, it’s perfect, but if you were looking for something deeper, then it’s not the best. You basically follow Simon while he is discovering who he is. There is no major plot twists or extremely dramatic events, which honestly is good and refreshing. Although dramatic and adventurous plots are amazing and great, and they constantly keep you on edge, they can be emotionally exhausting as well. So, reading a book like Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda can be refreshing.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Leave a Reply

