Book Reviews

Book Review: Gone Girl

21480930

Synopsis (Goodreads):

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media–as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents–the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter–but is he really a killer?

As the cops close in, every couple in town is soon wondering how well they know the one that they love. With his twin sister, Margo, at his side, Nick stands by his innocence. Trouble is, if Nick didn’t do it, where is that beautiful wife? And what was in that silvery gift box hidden in the back of her bedroom closet?

Review:

I read this book 7 months ago and I am finally getting around to write a review for it. As you know, Gone Girl is one of the most hyped book\movie of 2014. Everyone read the book or watched the movie and the majority loved it so much, but I didn’t and here is why:

I will start with the narrative, the book is written from the first person point view, which means that you’re constantly in the mind of two very sadistic, messed up, creepy people. In my opinion because these characters weren’t comfortable to read to the level that it made sick, I didn’t like being in their head constantly reading their very very very messed up thoughts.

There are two stories in the book. The first one is the typical story of a boy (Nick) meet girl (Amy), they fall in love, get married and have a happy life. Amy is funny, smart, beautiful and rich. Then things goes down hill when Nick loses his job, and then Amy loses her job and money. So, they had to make a big move from New York, to Nick’s small hometown. For while they were okay even though Amy knew that things aren’t going well. Nick turned out to be a very abusive husband and then Amy disappeared. In his version of the story, Nick tells the police that yes, Amy is beautiful and smart, but she is also controlling and hateful. And as the days pass, Nick becomes the main suspect in the disappearance of his wife.

As for the second side of the story, which I will not go into details about because I don’t to spoil the book. But, in this version of the story we get to know more about the golden couple as they are not what they look like to the eyes of the public.They are toxic. Offering two point of views to the story was suppose to be shocking, but I knew from the very beginning that they were not what they seemed. That they are a actually sick, toxic couple that pretend to be perfect in front of the people.

From the alternating point of views in the beginning of the book, I knew that one of them is unreliable narrator and that there is a twist coming ahead, and if you read between the lines, you could predict the twist.

I really appreciate and admire the ability of Gillian Flynn’s writing skills because the ability to create two different characters that are distant and then she shifts between the alternating point of views smoothly is incredible. I am a sucker for a good writing and the Gillian Flynn is an absolutely good writer. I admit that even though that I didn’t like the plot, I found it complex, however, that the big twist is not really impressive and it was very predictable.

I am not going to lie, I was intrigued and engaged in the beginning, but then I lost my interest in the story. I detested the characters so much! Nick is very pathetic and whiny. I hated how he only considered women as things for him. As for Amy, she is a sociopath and that’s all I can say about her. I didn’t like the way the events to developed and progressed, and the ending was an utter ridiculousness. I was so frustrated with it; I found it really pointless.

I really hated the excessive amount of cursing in this book, there is a lot of F-bombs, lots and lots of them in a very annoying way that really ruined most of the reading experience for me, and honestly it added nothing to the story. Nothing!

I wanted to love this book but I didn’t, I couldn’t.

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars.

 

Leave a Reply

