Book Reviews

Book Review: Second Chance Summer

11071466

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Taylor Edwards’ family might not be the closest-knit—everyone is a little too busy and overscheduled—but for the most part, they get along just fine. Then Taylor’s dad gets devastating news, and her parents decide that the family will spend one last summer all together at their old lake house in the Pocono Mountains.

Crammed into a place much smaller and more rustic than they are used to, they begin to get to know each other again. And Taylor discovers that the people she thought she had left behind haven’t actually gone anywhere. Her former best friend is still around, as is her first boyfriend…and he’s much cuter at seventeen than he was at twelve.

As the summer progresses and the Edwards become more of a family, they’re more aware than ever that they’re battling a ticking clock. Sometimes, though, there is just enough time to get a second chance—with family, with friends, and with love.

Review:

Where to start with this book?! I read this book last year and when I was flipping through my notes on the books I read, I stopped at this one and I felt the urge to post a review on my blog so here it is.

As I said I read this book last year, and everyone seemed to love this book and most of them found it emotional too, and I got excited. But 20 pages in, I started to feel bored with the book, and I utterly felt that the books is going nowhere, but it was too early to give (I was only 20 pages in) and so I decided to continue with it, and I read it so fast and I was extremely disappointed with the whole thing, and here is why:

First of all, for such story, I found the book really big (470 pages), now I have nothing against big books as I am a sucker for big books, but this book was big and it was fill of nothingness. I know I am being harsh here, but I do believe that the book could’ve deliver the message that it wanted to deliver in 250 pages or so! And I felt that my time was wasted reading this book.

As for the writing, I found it weak in my opinion and not exhilarating at all! With all the hype that was created around the book, I was expecting to read something really deep, but the book was so shallow and it didn’t really dive into the characters and the events in a way that makes me develop feelings of sympathy and sadness toward these characters.

Another thing that I found really annoying is the romance is the book. So, the main character, Taylor, had a crush on a boy when she was 12 and then she left Pocono Mountains leaving everything behind, including the boy she had a crush on. Now, the most annoying thing is when she saw him after all these years, she started to act awkward around him, and it was not convincing at all. I didn’t like the romance in this book, it was boring and plain. And speaking of Taylor, this girl got on nerve so much that I stopped reading for few minutes. She is childish and selfish. As a matter of fact, I don’t think that I liked any of the characters in the book, they were allow shallow and nobody stood out.

As for the tragedy in Taylor’s family, which is the main event of the books and it was suppose to bring the whole family closer to each other, but even with such tragedy, I still felt that the family was distant and I hoped that things would get better by the end, but nothing really happened. Also, the book was so predictable, it’s just one of those books where you can tell what will happen from the first 10 pages, but you just continue reading anyway. Moreover, I felt that the book exaggerate a lot! like when Taylor was saying that she did a very horrible thing to her friend before left and for few pages, I was actually excited to know what is this horrible thing that made feel this much guilty that she is scared to go back, but when I knew, I felt super angry because the book literally build up toward nothing, nothing significant happens in the book; it’s just a series of exaggerated events. I know that the tragedy is really sad, and I wished it played a bigger role into moving the story more or just reveal more of the characters’ personalities, but it didn’t do that.

The book do carry lesson of forgiveness, family and friendship, but it wasn’t done in a very good way in my opinion and there were a number of annoying things that made it hard for me to get through it. The book is really over hyped, but the entire premise of it was meh, I just needed to see for myself why is this book is over hyped and now I read it, I can’t see why.

I know that this review is harsh, but I honestly couldn’t write it in any other way. A lot of people really love this book and relate to it, and I hope they don’t get offended reading my review as it is only my opinion of the book, that’s all :D.

Rating: 1.5 out of 5 stars

 

Leave a Reply

