Book Reviews

Book Review: Warm Bodies

9475392

(Synopsis) Goodreads:

R’ is a zombie. He has no name, no memories and no pulse, but he has dreams. He is a little different from his fellow Dead.

Amongst the ruins of an abandoned city, R meets a girl. Her name is Julie and she is the opposite of everything he knows – warm and bright and very much alive, she is a blast of color in a dreary grey landscape. For reasons he can’t understand, R chooses to save Julie instead of eating her, and a tense yet strangely tender relationship begins.

This has never happened before. It breaks the rules and defies logic, but R is no longer content with life in the grave. He wants to breathe again, he wants to live, and Julie wants to help him. But their grim, rotting world won’t be changed without a fight.

Review:

I will start this review by saying that I never thought in a million year that I would one day read a novel about Zombies because paranormal creatures are just not my thing; I don’t like Vampires, Ware wolves, Zombies and so on, but this book was an exception!

My friend recommended this book to me and she even lent me her copy to read and I was hesitant because deep down inside, I didn’t want to read it, however, this all changed when I started reading the book.

I will first start talking about the writing style because it’s what struck me the most. The writing style of the book was so beautiful and descriptive, but not overly descriptive in a boring way, which was phenomenal. I liked all the descriptions of the airport; they were so vivid and clear and made the whole thing believable! I really enjoyed the way the world was built in.

As for the characters, we have our main protagonist, R, and he is a zombie who doesn’t remember his name, but he remembers the first letter of his name. I found “R” amusing and funny at times, he is not like the other zombies; he thinks and has dreams. I loved that he is different; he longed for memories and desired life, which is not like typical zombies. I really loved that the book was told from his point of view because “R” can’t speak a full sentence, so the majority of the book is basically “R’s” thoughts on everything. His personality was lovable and likable despite the fact that he is actually a zombie.  Julie is really feisty and I really enjoyed her sarcastic personality, she was simply awesome.  I loved the growing romance between her and “R”. I am not going to lie, but when I heard that this book had romance in it, I wasn’t too thrilled and excited, but the romance here is weirdly believable, and although the book is small (240 pages only), the romance took it’s time to develop and grow; it didn’t feel rushed at all.

Now, I would’ve given this book a 5 out of 5 stars, but the reason why I didn’t do that is because, I felt that the book was building toward something big and the ending was slightly disappointing to me; I expected more from the ending, but, I hear that the author is writing a second book, which is exciting, but at the same time not because will this book live up to the awesomeness of first one? Because Warm Bodies is really unique. So, I am hoping that the second one is a good sequel.

The second thing that I didn’t like much about the book is all the dreams and the memories that “R” gets from eating the brain of Julie’s ex. At sometimes I felt that they interrupted the story, and they took a not so small portion of the book. I sometimes enjoyed them and sometimes, I found them slightly annoying, even though they contributed in the development of the romance between “R” and Julie.

This book was nothing like I expected to be and I am glad that it didn’t disappoint me at all. So, am I into zombies now? Nope, and never will be. This book is an exception, but if you have any recommendations please do leave them in the comments and I will check them out. I highly recommend this book to everyone, even if you are not a zombie fan, just like me. What a delightful, fast paced book.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

