The Reading Corner

Read it Whenever You Feel Like it

114999f13d78385cd94e5846e24a5bb5

Dear Readers,

I have been on situations where whenever someone sees me reading Harry Potter or Percy Jackson, they would be like, you haven’t read Harry Potter before!! Where have you been living? Under a rock?! Well to those I say no, I haven’t been living under a rock, I just never had an interest in reading these books until now.

Growing up, I didn’t live in a very bookish environment; my father is an avid reader, but other than that, no. I didn’t have friends who were interested in books or anything like that. I read books because I loved reading them, however, in my school, they didn’t encourage us to read books, and they just stuck with the given curriculum, which honestly is lame. Anyway, as I was saying, books were a huge part of my life, but it wasn’t a huge part of the environment I grew up in, so when Harry Potter, the books came out, I honestly didn’t know anything about them because the hype that was created around these books in the western part of the world, is not the same here; I only knew when the movies were out, so you can say that I grew with movies and not the books.

But, as I grew up, I felt like I wanted to read Harry Potter as they are very highly talked about and everyone seems to love them, so I felt that I need to jump on that train and be with everyone and so, on my 20th birthday, I decided to buy the whole box set and start reading them and like everyone, I loved them so very much (Still didn’t finish the series because I am bad when comes to reading book series, but I am currently at book 5) and I am glad that I can finally talk about them and about how awesome they are with everyone else.

Now that being said, I couldn’t stop thinking that if I read Harry Potter when I was 12 or something, I don’t think that I would have the same appreciation for the books as I do now.

Another example of books I read late in my life when everyone has read them when they were younger is To Kill a Mockingbird. Everyone know that this book is one of the most well known\loved books in the world; a lot of people love it and appreciate it and I wasn’t one of those people who read it when I was 14 or something because a) I didn’t know about it at that age b) in my school they didn’t encourage reading. So, I never came to read it until this year and I have a deep appreciation for the book even though I didn’t love it. But, I am sure that if I read it when I was 14, I wouldn’t understand the book because at that time, my brain wasn’t as developed as now. I didn’t fully comprehend the meaning of racism and slavery because they didn’t teach us about these things in school and I didn’t use the internet for like 95% of the time; I simply wasn’t interested in it, and it wasn’t that big of a deal to me because I spent my time reading whatever I found in front of me.

In this post, Harry Potter and To Kill a Mockingbird are only two examples of many of the books that I didn’t read when I was growing up, but I learnt something: you shouldn’t feel pressured to read books just because everyone is reading them; read at your own pace and speed and enjoy and appreciate the book that you are reading because sometimes, it’s all about the right timing. I might hate a book today, but maybe if I read it in a year or two, I might change my mind about it. So don’t rush it and read at your own speed.

Love,

Tea Bags & Books

4 thoughts on “Read it Whenever You Feel Like it

  1. Agree completely. I read War and Peace at 15, and missed most of its meaning. I resisted reading Harry Potter for years, thinking it was for kids (and childish adults) only, but then loved it (the first one). I think pressure takes the magic out of it too.

    Like

    1. I totally agree with you. it’s not a competition of who reads it first, it suppose to be something fun.

      Thank you for commenting 😀 <3.

      Like

Leave a Reply

