Book Reviews

Book Review: Good Wives

78960

Synopsis (Goodreads): 

Amy looked relieved, but naughty Jo took her at her word, for during the first call she sat with every limb gracefully composed, every fold correctly draped, calm as a summer sea, cool as a snowbank, and as silent as the sphinx. In vain Mrs. Chester alluded to her ‘charming novel’, and the Misses Chester introduced parties, picnics, the opera, and the fashions. Each and all were answered by a smile, a bow, and a demure “Yes” or “No” with the chill on.

Review:

I have wanted to read this book since I bought it last summer, but for some reason, I never was in the mood to read it even though I am very fond of Little Women.

Little Women and Good Wives are sometimes published in one book and sometimes separately where Good Wives is considered the sequel, so you might have read the book in one big book. Now, let’s get into the review.

When I started reading this book, I thought that I will be lost because it’s been a long while since I read Little Women and I was afraid that I might not remember much about it, but thank god for the gossip chapter because it gave me an update on the characters and what happened to them, and I just immediately dived back into that beautiful world.

If you know me personally, then you will know that I am person who hates teeny tiny details in books, I just hate them. But, in this book, the details were so beautifully done that you don’t want to stop reading. The details drew very beautiful pictures of the places they visited and the dresses and everything else; they were simply tender and elegant just like the book and the characters.

Another thing that I admire about the book is that even though these characters lived in a time that’s not our time, they are still feel so relatable. You can’t just help but feel connected to these characters. Their life experiences, their way of thinking, their mother’s advice are all things that apply to our world and lives. I connected with all of them, but mostly I found myself in Jo the most. She is intellectual, loves to write and appreciate her freedom.

I don’t want to spoil anything if you haven’t read the book yet, but I adored the way the author allowed us to get close to her characters through her writing, I mean in Beth situation, I felt like I was a part of the family, like I was there with them, and I got close to Beth and much as they did, and that what I call magic using words.

I loved all the couples, they were all perfect and they each fit perfectly with each other. If I had to choose my least favorite sister, it would be Amy, but I still like Amy but she is just a little bit materialistic for my taste and it annoyed me in certain parts of the book, but I think she got her perfect ending and I couldn’t be happier for her.

I enjoyed reading this part of the March sisters lives, I loved them in Little Women when they still very young and have a lot of dreams, and I loved that in Good Wives, I get to see them all grow up and pursuing their dream and live their lives, it was just a very beautiful journey and I enjoyed very much, so I highly recommend Little Women and Good Wives to everyone.

This book is a classic that teach you about love, life, dealing with hardships and more. All the advice are applicable to our nowadays lives and I enjoyed just reading every word. I am still in a book hangover because I finished the book two days ago and I still didn’t pick up a book to read next.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

 

Leave a Reply

