Book Reviews

Book Review: The Knife of Never Letting Go

2118745

Synopsis (Goodreads):  

Prentisstown isn’t like other towns. Everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts in an overwhelming, never-ending stream of Noise. Just a month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd and his dog, Manchee — whose thoughts Todd can hear too, whether he wants to or not — stumble upon an area of complete silence. They find that in a town where privacy is impossible, something terrible has been hidden — a secret so awful that Todd and Manchee must run for their lives.

Review: 

This book is my third Patrick Ness book to read and I liked but I had some issues with it as well.

Getting into this book I was super excited because A Monster Calls was so amazing that I raised my expectations for his other books way too much, and I won’t say that I was disappointed but it wasn’t what I expected.

The premise of the book is what attracted me to the book in the first place. A place where everyone can hear everyone’s ideas and thoughts but there is still a secret, that’s exciting, right? But, honestly at some point I felt that the book was dragging on because it’s a big book and the events take time to happen, which made the story pace slow for no obvious reason. Also, there were some parts that I found predictable.

As for the writing style, I enjoyed it for the most part, but also I found it weird. I don’t know if it’s only me but I noticed some weird misspelled words. I think this is because the book is written from Todd’s POV and so most of the book was written in misspelled words because reading and being educated was forbidden in their town. But, it was super annoying because all the “Your” were spelled “Yer” and there is a lot more in the book, which really really REALLY annoyed me.

Don’t get me wrong, I liked Ness’s intake on dystopia\post apocalyptic genre but I felt that the premise of the book promised a lot and in my opinion, it didn’t deliver. I struggled a little bit to finish the book but still I did enjoy the plot and the writing style overall. I didn’t expect that the book would take a sci-fi turn; it was a surprise. I didn’t do much research on the book and I just went to it blindly.

As for the characters, I couldn’t connect with them at all! I found them really irritating and ignorant a little bit. I think the fact that they were children, I couldn’t connect with them on any level, I found them a little bit flat and plain and have no depth to them. I felt at some point of the plot that there is nothing to do other than attacking Viola and Todd and it was honestly slightly boring and as I said predictable. And that dog Manchee!!! I hated that dog so much. He was even more annoying than his owner. Ugh!

In general, I found the book really creative storywise, but I felt that the book promised more than what it delivered; at least this is how I felt. But, don’t get me wrong, I liked the book, I can see a small light at the end of the tunnel and I am going to go through with the trilogy for sure. The book ended in a way that made me want to know what will happen next. It’s not a perfect book and I get that but I am interested in the series.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Knife of Never Letting Go

  1. Aw I’m sorry you didn’t like this book! It’s actually one of my favourite trilogies ever. I do admit that the writing is hard to get through at first but I found Todd and Viola’s journey very beautiful!

    Like

    1. I am interested though in knowing what will happen next to them, I feel that it’s one of those trilogies that get better with every book. I did like it a little bit but I didn’t fall in love with it as much as I wanted to. Hopefully, the second one is better because I do want to know what will happen, it ended on a pretty intense cliffhanger. I love Patrick Ness’s plot and ideas. I hate dystopia but I think he takes it to another level and that what I like about him. He is not like those who follow the same plot line like, bad government that control people and put them in a group because I am tired of those plot lines.

      Like

Leave a Reply

