Book Reviews

Book Review: Miss Peregrines Home For Peculiar Children

 17162156

Synopsis (Goodreads): 

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

Review: 

This book sounded like an interesting read to me and every time I would go to the bookstore, I would see the book and I will be tempted to pick it up and purchase it, but for some reason, I never did buy it until this year when I purchased it online just because I felt like buying it.

To say the truth, I got into this book with no expectations at all because I learned the hard way that raising my expectations is just going to ruin the book for me, so no expectations is better than high expectations that the book might not be able to meet. Also, I didn’t know anything about the plot as well, I heard some things here and there but that was about it. I didn’t know much and I didn’t want to know much about it. I only wanted to enjoy the book as it is.

Now, let me say that the book was fantastic. From the first chapter, I fell in love with it. I loved the writing style a lot. I found it really unique and made the story more interesting and more gripping that you can’t stop reading it. Each paragraph made me want to read the next one and then I found myself reading the last paragraph of the last chapter and I was like, “When did this book end? How! I just started reading it!”

As for the story, I loved it so much. I found it really unique and the fact that there were pictures attached, made the story even more special because you don’t only get to read about these characters and these children, but you get to see them as well and that’s really cool and amazing. The pictures that are used in the book are real picture that the author searched for in places like flea markets and vintage shops. I think that made the book even greater because I really love it when people put effort into what they are making because it make whatever they are making even more special and add a greater value to it. But, at the same time, the book could work without the pictures too; it won’t affect the story in anyway. However, the pictures add an irresistible element that made me as a reader more curious. Also, I loved the vivid world building of the story. I adored the house, I wanted to go there and just spend time with these peculiar children because it sounds fun.

However, the book can be slow in some parts but that didn’t annoy me or ruin the reading experience for me. The book takes it time to build up the world and the characters and I liked that.

As for the characters, we have Jacob as the main protagonist and I liked Jacob, I found him annoying at sometimes, but I loved his curiosity. He didn’t start as best character, but I liked seeing him develop over the length of the book. As for the children, I liked their personalities and I loved their awkwardness. They were just fun to read and the same goes to Miss Peregrine. I loved her the most and I loved how protective she is over these children. All in All, the book had some really good characters, except maybe for Jacob’s mom, I found her a little bit annoying and very materialistic.

This book was great in my opinion, and I enjoyed every minute of it. I am so excited to see how the movie is going to turn out to be and I am even more excited to pick up the second book and start reading it because I really want to know how things are going to turn out to be.

I got into this book with no exceptions at all, and I ended up enjoying it very much, which is the best way to get into a book.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars


 

Some of the pictures that are used in the book:

slide_193341_405657_free slide_193341_405661_free slide_193341_405658_free

Picture source: The Huffington Post

 

 

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Miss Peregrines Home For Peculiar Children

  1. This book sounds absolutely amazing. I love stories that are told slightly unconventionally, like the eerie photos here. I definitely have to buy myself a physical copy and read it before the movie comes out 🙂 fantastic review!

    Like

    1. It is a great book, I loved it. But, as I said I got into it with no expectations, which made me enjoy the book even more and so, this is my advice to you. I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did when you get to read it.

      And thank you <3.

      Like

    1. I know, I didn’t expect to like it this much and I do. I am so excited to read the sequel and to see the movie when it’s out, which I don’t know when.

      Glad you liked my review <3.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The movie will be out sometime in march 2016 in which, tim burton, will be the director and the third book, the library of souls, is expected to be out on september 22 this year. 🙂 Wait for a moment, I’ll send you the link on goodreads. 🙂

        Like

      2. Thank you for telling me. I only knew that Tim Burton is the movie director and Samuel L. Jackson is one of the actors and that was enough to make me excited. I am anticipating the movie so very much. Thank you for telling me when the movie will be released because I am super lazy at staying updated on these things XD.

        Thanks Again.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. You’re very welcome. 🙂

        And by the way… I forgot to mention. Eva Green would be Miss Peregrine, Asa Butterfield is Jacob then Ella Purnell as Emma. 🙂 I’ll send you the link. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

