Book Reviews

Book Review: Bossypants

10962190

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Before Liz Lemon, before “Weekend Update,” before “Sarah Palin,” Tina Fey was just a young girl with a dream: a recurring stress dream that she was being chased through a local airport by her middle-school gym teacher. She also had a dream that one day she would be a comedian on TV.

She has seen both these dreams come true.

At last, Tina Fey’s story can be told. From her youthful days as a vicious nerd to her tour of duty on Saturday Night Live; from her passionately halfhearted pursuit of physical beauty to her life as a mother eating things off the floor; from her one-sided college romance to her nearly fatal honeymoon — from the beginning of this paragraph to this final sentence.

Review:

I read this book last month and I am finally posting the review right now because I am just bad at reviewing books immediately after I finish them. Anyway, let’s get into the book.

I was looking for a book that is light and fast to read and I didn’t have anything that fit the description on my shelves. So, I just went wondering around the house and I spotted this book on the floor and so I picked it up.

This book wasn’t one of the books that I actually wanted to read and it’s not because that I don’t love Tina Fey because I am a HUGE fan of her, but I kind of forgot that she have a book published (silly me!). So, I picked up the book and opened the first page and I was hooked! The introduction was so funny and it was enough to make want to read the rest of the book and add it to my book collection.

The book is organized chronologically and you get to follow  Tine Fey through different chapters of her life and it was so good. I listened to some of the parts and read some of them depending on how I feel.

I loved the narration so much. It was so good and you get to feel the book even more when you hear Tina Fey herself narrating it. I laughed out loud, and I was so inspired by her. I love how she presents herself in her own personality and trademark, she is fierce and intelligent and a feminist.

I think what make her likable to the viewers is that she is honest and just being herself and that what she did in the book, she was just herself. She doesn’t have to be someone else to please the people, and I liked that about the book; about her because if you read the book and you already know Tina Fey’s work, then you will know what I am talking about.

The book carries a lot of great lessons and wisdom. Her book is a mixture of adorable wit and humor and huge sense of understanding on how to make it as a woman in such industry while preserving your personality and your own trademark.

I loved her description of women based on celebrities like JLo, it was funny and brilliant.  I cracked up when she said, “The person closest to actually achieving this look is Kim Kardashian, who, as we know, was made by Russian scientists to sabotage our athletes. Everyone else is struggling.” That was so hilarious and just made love her even more.

Overall, I loved the book and I love her and if you haven’t watch 30 rock yet, then what are you waiting for?! Just go and watch it because it is so good. I watched maybe 5 times and I never get bored of it. Never.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

