Book Reviews · The Reading Corner

BookTubeAThon 2015: Day 7 update + Book Review: The Lost Hero

Day 7 Update: 

If you are wondering why haven’t I post day 6 update, it’s because I didn’t do much that day. I read few pages (40 I guess) and chilled out for the rest of the day, and so that didn’t need a whole post by itself because I didn’t a lot and I didn’t finish a book.

But, I spent all day 7 reading The Lost Hero to finish it by the end of BokTubeAThon and I did finish it and I have a lot to say about this book. I loved it, but I have a lot to say about it. Anyway, I finished reading the last 200 pages from The Lost Hero and that was about it for day 7.

So here is the review for The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan:

11351181

Synopsis (Goodreads): 

Jason has a problem. He doesn’t remember anything before waking up on a school bus holding hands with a girl. Apparently he has a girlfriend named Piper. His best friend is a kid named Leo, and they’re all students in the Wilderness School, a boarding school for “bad kids”, as Leo puts it. What he did to end up here, Jason has no idea — except that everything seems very wrong.

Piper has a secret. Her father, a famous actor, has been missing for three days, and her vivid nightmares reveal that he’s in terrible danger. Now her boyfriend doesn’t recognize her, and when a freak storm and strange creatures attack during a school field trip, she, Jason, and Leo are whisked away to someplace called Camp Half-Blood. What is going on?

Leo has a way with tools. His new cabin at Camp Half-Blood is filled with them. Seriously, the place beats Wilderness School hands down, with its weapons training, monsters, and fine-looking girls. What’s troubling is the curse everyone keeps talking about, and that a camper’s gone missing. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist they are all—including Leo—related to a god. 

Review:

I finally read The Lost Hero, which is the first book in the Heroes of Olympus series and I will put it this way, I LOVED it, but… Oh yes, there is a but. Where the hell is Percy! I love Percy, why the hell he had to be kidnapped! He is freakin’ Percy! Ughhh. Now that’s out of my system, let’s move to our new characters and the story.

We have three new heroes in this book, Jason, Piper and Leo. Let’s start with Jason. Now, Jason doesn’t remember anything, he only remembers that he woke up on a bus, but other than that, nothing, which really confused me because, everyone remembered him, everyone knew him. It’s clear that he had a life that he doesn’t remember and through out most of the book he don’t remember anything and don’t know anything. And honestly, that was frustrating because if he doesn’t know anything, we don’t know anything! But, then we find out that he is the son of a Roman version of one of the Greek gods (I won’t say who because I don’t want to spoil it if you haven’t read it yet), and he goes on quest to rescue a goddess and retrieve his memory. So, in this book, Jason is the equivalent of Percy, but believe me he is not as good as Percy.

Now, let’s talk about piper for a little bit. In the beginning of the book, I didn’t really like piper. She was insecure, always doubting and questioning herself and she was annoying. But, then she started to become better, she became more confident after she knew who she was and whose daughter she was because from reading Percy Jackson, I hated that certain cabin that piper belongs to, but in this book, that cabin and that goddess, redeemed her image in my mind. So, yeah eventually, I liked piper and I am looking forward to see how is she going to be developed even more in the next books.

And finally, let’s talk about my favorite character in the book, Leo. I adored Leo. He was the best one, and if someone should be the equivalent of Percy, I think Leo is the best choice for that and not Jason. He always saves Piper and Jason, he made them a flying dragon and he can make fire. Leo always felt like he is in the background and that he is not as good as Piper and Jason, but he is as good as they are and even better. I loved his background story and it just made me understand him more. His story was emotional and it touched my heart.

Also, through this book, I got to know Thalia more because I didn’t like her a lot in the Percy Jackson books. She was annoying and I wasn’t interested in her character. But, in this book she redeemed her image too.

As for Hera, oh Hera. I thought she would be better in this book, but she is nothing other than a bored housewife that has nothing to do other than playing with people’s life. I HATE her.

One of the things I like about is reading the book from three point of views because this way we got to see more and get to know and understand the characters better because in Percy Jackson we only got to read from one point of view, which is Percy’s. In this book, Jason’s were my least favorite POV and Leo’s were my favorite.

I loved all the action and the adventure, but at some parts, I felt like the story was stretched out a little bit because this series is big compared to the Percy Jackson series.

Overall, it was a really good book and I enjoyed it a lot and I am excited to read the rest of the books and see where they are going, especially now that we have a new camp. Hmmm, interesting.

Rating: 4.4 out of 5 stars

 

One thought on “BookTubeAThon 2015: Day 7 update + Book Review: The Lost Hero

Leave a Reply

