Book Reviews · The Reading Corner

BookTubeAThon 2015: Day 4 (Part Two) + Book Review: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

 Screen Shot 2015-08-07 at 8.30.16 AM

Because I finished reading two books in day 4, I decided to split the post into two parts because if I didn’t do that, it will be one very long post with two book reviews and it might be boring.

Anyway, as I was saying, I finished reading two books in day four. The first book is Blood Witch (Sweep #3) (Check out the previous post to read the review for Blood Witch), and the second book I finished was Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling, and by finishing this book, I crossed yet again, another challenge, which is to read a book that I really want to read.

Also, I re-watched some of the episodes of 30 rock because if I hadn’t said it by now, it’s one of my all time favorite TV shows, but I won’t talk about it now because it’s a whole other topic by itself.

So, without further ado, here is the review:

10335308

Synopsis (Goodreads):

 Mindy Kaling has lived many lives: the obedient child of immigrant professionals, a timid chubster afraid of her own bike, a Ben Affleck–impersonating Off-Broadway performer and playwright, and, finally, a comedy writer and actress prone to starting fights with her friends and coworkers with the sentence “Can I just say one last thing about this, and then I swear I’ll shut up about it?”

Perhaps you want to know what Mindy thinks makes a great best friend (someone who will fill your prescription in the middle of the night), or what makes a great guy (one who is aware of all elderly people in any room at any time and acts accordingly), or what is the perfect amount of fame (so famous you can never get convicted of murder in a court of law), or how to maintain a trim figure (you will not find that information in these pages). If so, you’ve come to the right book, mostly!

Review:

Let me start by saying that I LOVED the book so so so much. I really wanted to read this book ever since I knew about it, but I have to say it, I didn’t have high expectations for it. However, once I started reading the book, I couldn’t put it down.

The book was fun, fuuny, witty, honest, amusing and personal. While reading it, I felt as if I was talking with Mindy in a small cozy cafe, and I got to know her and understand her a little bit more. I loved that the book was conversational and simple. It really sounded like Mindy talking if you’re familiar with her work, you will understand what I am talking about.

The book was so engaging and I personally connected with her and understood how she felt in some parts, like how she felt about being chubby. I adored this book.

I loved the writing style. It felt like a blog post but in a more sophisticated way. She talked about a lot of stuff, she shared a lot of her life experiences and she wasn’t afraid of saying what’s on her mind. She talked about how she dealt with the bullies; she is like a bamboo, whenever life hits her, she is always able to come back. she is AWESOME. She is a role model and inspirational.

The book is Hilarious and I laughed out loud a lot. It’s definitely one of the best books I’ve read, and it will be one of my all time favorites. Also, the audio book is narrated by Mindy herself, which I am sure is amazing, and at some point, I will listen to it. So, if you don’t feel like reading the book, just go and listen to that.

The book just made me want to re-watch the Mindy Project all over again.

Rating: 5 out of  5 stars.

 

One thought on “BookTubeAThon 2015: Day 4 (Part Two) + Book Review: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

Leave a Reply

