The Reading Corner

BookTubeAThon 2015

Hello Lovely Readers,

Today’s Post is different because it’s going to be a BookTubeAThon post and I am super excited. Before this BookTubeAThon, I never participated in any kind of ReadAThons because the idea of them just intimidated me, but there is a first to everything and this year I tried a lot of new things, including this blog and so why not participate? I mean it’s summer and my plan is to read 25 books and this ReadAThone will give me a huge push toward finishing my Goodreads challenge, which is to finish 65 books and I am so close to cross the finishing line.

Now, since I will be spending most of my day reading books and hopefully finishing some, I will need some essential stuff, like an unlimited supply of tea and water because it’s important to stay hydrated. Also, I love listening to music while reading but not any music work for me because some of them are just too distracting. But, I found out that listening to Ed Sheeran is quite relaxing. Also, I will be listening to Rocky Balboa theme song, and the breakfast club theme song because they are some of my favorite songs to listen to while reading.

These are the seven books that I am planning to read during the BookTubeAThon:

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 9.40.42 AM

Now that I am done blabbering, let’s get into the challenges and there are seven challenges and I am willing to finish them all, hopefully.

Challenge #1 is to read a book with blue on the cover. 

 11351181

For this challenge I decided to go with the Lost Hero by Rick Riordan. My first choice was Percy Jackson: The Last Olympian, but that didn’t work because I couldn’t wait till August to read it. Then I decided to read the Evolution of Mara Dyer, but I am not in the mood for that and I am already was like 50 pages in in the Lost Hero and I was so excited that I couldn’t pause it till I finish this BookTubeAThon. It’s quite a big book (551 pages) but I think I can manage finishing it by reading a portion of it everyday.

Challenge #2 is to read a book by an author who shares the same first letter of your last name. 

1074383

This was actually hard to find because I only had Jenny Han and I already read those books, so that won’t work, and I wasn’t in the mood for the Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin, so I had to find something else to read and after few minutes of looking and staring at my shelves, I found a book, which is 84 Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff. I borrowed this from my friend few months ago and I am finally going to read it this week.

Challenge #3 is to read someone else’s favorite book. 

78413

For this challenge I decided to go with the bad beginnings by Lemony Snicket. It’s my uncle’s favorite book and it’s a fairly small book so it will be easy to finish.

Challenge #4 is to read the last book I acquired.

17904454

For this one, I chose the first book in the Cirque Du Freak series by Darren Shan. I borrowed this book from my friend and it was literally the last book I picked up before I left her house.

Challenge #5 is to finish a book without letting go of it. 

23301545

For this one I decided to go with a small book to make it easy for me to finish and so I chose the The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman. It’s a graphic novel but with more words, and it’s small that I can finish in one setting.

Challenge #6 is to read a book I really want to read. 

10335308

I chose to read is everyone hanging out without me? By Mindy Kaling. I’ve been eyeing this book for a while and I really wanted to read it because I really admire Mindy, she is funny and original and I like that about her, so again I borrowed it from my friend and if I like it, I will buy my own copy of it.

The last challenge is to read 7 books. 

333942

For this one I chose another short and a quick read, which is the last book in Sweep volume one and that is Blood Witch and with this, I will finish the seven challenges.

I am so excite ye so terrified. I may finish these books or may not, but nonetheless it’s going to be a fun experience and I will be participating in other ReadAThones in the future.

Now, I better go and start reading and stop wasting time because I have quite few books to finish and a lot of fictional words to conquer.

I will keep you updated on a daily bases on how are the challenges are going.

Happy Reading.

For more information about the BookTubeAThon, visit these links:

YouTube

Twitter

Instagram

4 thoughts on “BookTubeAThon 2015

  1. Its so cool to see someone reading Cate Tiernan’s Sweep series, that is one of my all time favorite, favorite series from my teen years. Actually I recently re-read them all and they are still some of my favorites lol!

    Like

    1. I just started them this year and they are quite entertaining and everyone is telling me that they get better with every book and I am so excited to see how things will turn out <3. I love Cal <3.

      Like

Leave a Reply

