Book Reviews

Book Review: ‘Salem’s Lot

9917996

Synopsis (Goodreads):

‘Salem’s Lot is a small New England town with white clapboard houses, tree-lined streets, and solid church steeples. That summer in ‘Salem’s Lot was a summer of home-coming and return; spring burned out and the land lying dry, crackling underfoot. Late that summer, Ben Mears returned to ‘Salem’s Lot hoping to cast out his own devils… and found instead a new unspeakable horror.

A stranger had also come to the Lot, a stranger with a secret as old as evil, a secret that would wreak irreparable harm on those he touched and in turn on those they loved.

All would be changed forever—Susan, whose love for Ben could not protect her; Father Callahan, the bad priest who put his eroded faith to one last test; and Mark, a young boy who sees his fantasy world become reality and ironically proves the best equipped to handle the relentless nightmare of’Salem’s Lot.

Review: 

Reading Stephen King was a new experience for me because I never liked books from this genre and so I was discouraged and ended up never reading from this genre at all. But, few months ago, I stumbled on an interview with Stephen King and I decided to watch it because why not? And after I finished watching the interview, this person amazed me so much that I wanted to read something by him ASAP. So, I started doing some research and I settled on Salem’s Lot and thank god that I started with this one because it was mind-blowing. 

This book was huge and I was intimidated a little bit because I figured that I should start with something smaller to see if I will like his style or not, but I didn’t have much choice at that moment and so I decided to read it and once I started I couldn’t put it down even though it took me a whole month (Exactly 30 days) to finish it because I was busy finishing projects and assignments. 

Now moving to the structure of the book, the book is divided into two parts and the story is told from multiple point of views making the story’s view change so often, which honestly confused me a little bit at the beginning, but once I got things down and understood the story, reading the book became easier and way more enjoyable.  The plot was easy to understand and the pace was great and although the book was big, I never felt that the story was slow-paced. 

I liked the idea that King didn’t make the vampires as the main focus of the story. The vampires weren’t the only symbol of darkness and evilness in the book because the characters and the town themselves represented darkness and evilness, while the vampires secret and story was cooking slowly in the background, but you feel their influence on the whole situation. 

Another thing I was skeptical about is the vamps themselves because I HATE vampire stories so much, they are always over romanticized as if they are not monsters at all, which they clearly are. Therefore, I loved how King showed their true face and identity as evil and monstrous creatures.

The book if definitely scary and if you think the vamps are the scary part, then you are wrong because yes they are scary, but there are a lot of things going on in this book that will bring the chills down to your spine. For example, imagine a mother punching her baby who is I think 10 months old only, how horrific is this? That’s definitely one scary image.  

I loved this book so much and I will definitely will be re-reading it in the future because it worth the re-read. This book is spectacular and Stephen King is an out of the world writer and there is no wonder that he is considered as a genre by himself. This book is 40-years-old and a lot of developments happened to the vampires genre and honestly I didn’t read much vamps stories because as I said, I hate them. But, I loved this one and will keep loving it. I will definitely be reading more of King’s books and I am looking forward to that.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

 

Leave a Reply

