Book Reviews

Book Review: To Kill a Mockingbird

 8045416

Synopsis (Goodreads): 

‘Shoot all the bluejays you want, if you can hit ’em, but remember it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.’

A lawyer’s advice to his children as he defends the real mockingbird of Harper Lee’s classic novel – a black man charged with the rape of a white girl. Through the young eyes of Scout and Jem Finch, Harper Lee explores with exuberant humour the irrationality of adult attitudes to race and class in the Deep South of the thirties. The conscience of a town steeped in prejudice, violence and hypocrisy is pricked by the stamina of one man’s struggle for justice. But the weight of history will only tolerate so much.

Review:

I have been eying this book for the longest time. I have always wanted to read it because this novel is simply one of the most beloved novels around the world. Everyone who read it end up falling in love with it.

Through out my years in school, I was never required to read any books, which is stupid. Anyway, I never read it as a part of school, so it was always on my TBR list but, I never got the chance to sit down and read it. However, this summer, I was determined to read it and clearly I did, and unfortunately I didn’t fall in love with it, even though, I was so ready to fall in love with it.

Reading this book was like a wild roller coaster that I didn’t enjoy. The book is split in two parts. Reading the first part was confusing for me, I felt lost for the most part. So, I had to reread some of the parts twice and thrice to somehow fully get them, but I still didn’t. But, I continued reading anyway because I figured that things will get better as I read. But that wasn’t the case, I was still confused by the time I reached part two.

I can see why people love this because it’s a brilliant book, and I can see that, but I couldn’t connect with the book, I can’t get into it. I liked the writing style, the concept is great and the message that the author want to deliver is honest and important and I liked it. The story flow was smooth and everything happened in the right time. But, with all this, for some reason I don’t know, I didn’t like the book that much.

I didn’t like the characters that much because I feel that other than their given roles in the book, they have solid identity, I can’t imagine them acting in certain situations. They didn’t have depth. In my opinion they were one dimensional. But, I loved Atticus Finch. I loved his name and his personality; he is the best character in the book. But, the rest characters were just cheesy and annoying and not slightly interesting.

I might re-read it again in the future and hopefully the future me would like it more.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

 

One thought on “Book Review: To Kill a Mockingbird

Leave a Reply

