The Reading Corner

Series I Regret Reading (Top 5)

Some times I listen to the opinion of others and I get too excited about reading what they are reading, but some times, I end up regretting reading these books. So, I decided for today’s post to mention the series that I regretted reading or starting.

I am not trying to offense anyone by not liking the books they like because all of these books I mentioned are really beloved by a lot of people, but this is just based on how I feel about them and I hope no one get offended.

Number 5:

Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth:

13335037

I remember being so excited when I bought this trilogy and started reading it. It didn’t take me a lot of time to finish it because the writing was so simple. I loved the first book so much, I still see it the strongest one in the series, but overall, I regret reading these books because the characters developed in a bad way and became less likable and it was hard to connect to them. Plus, the ending wasn’t convincing at all. I don’t mind a tragic ending but if it was done right.

Number 4:

Precious Stones Trilogy by Kerstin Gier:

I

I know that this trilogy is a lot of people’s favorite trilogy and I tried to make it mine too, but for me I found it really hard to get into the books. The flow of the events in my opinion was slow and the events takes a lot of time to develop which annoyed me. Also, I really didn’t like the characters. the synopsis of the story was exciting but I was disappointed. But, I have to say it, the covers are gorgeous.

Number 3:

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken:

10576365

I was barely able to finish the first book of this series and then I decided to stop. This trilogy is again one of a lot of people’s favorite trilogies. In my opinion the book resembled Divergent and the hunger games in a way and it was released in a time where there was a lot of dystopian novels that had kind of the same plot line so, I decided to stop with the series. Also, the book is slow, which made the reading process boring. In addition, in a lot of places, I felt like I didn’t know where the story is going. It wasn’t clear.

Number 2:

The Infernal Devices Trilogy by Cassandra Clare:

8857824

My fried nagged me so much about this trilogy that I had to buy the first book and see what all this fuss is about. The mortal instrument trilogy is beloved by a lot of people, but I am clearly not one of them. I found the book so slow like the rest, I hated the detailed descriptions of every teeny tiny detail that I found myself skimming through out most of the book just looking for the dialogues.

Number One:

Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins:

8475505

Reading this book was a struggle honestly. I tried so hard to get into it, but I was never able to immerse myself fully in the story. I admit that it was funny in some places, but overall, the book was a drag on and it could be condensed in 200 pages instead of a 350 pages.

Leave a Reply

