Book Reviews

Book Review: The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #1)

18190302 (1)

Book Summary (Goodreads):

Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse—Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. When Percy’s mom finds out, she knows it’s time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he’ll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends—one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena—Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.

Review: 

This year, out of sudden, I decided to read Percy Jackson. In the past, I used to be pretty resentful toward this serious and to be honest, I didn’t have any reason to resent it but I guess all the hype around it made grow repulsive toward it.

However, things changed this year and my taste in books grew and changed, in my opinion, drastically. So, I felt like I want to read this series; I wanted to give it another chance. So, I went and bought the first book only and started reading it and I couldn’t put it down. The next day, I went and bought the rest of the books because I fell in love with the first book and I wanted to know what will happen next.

In this book, Percy is an awkward boy, he doesn’t fit in the environment around him and he always been weird. He knows that he is somehow different from the rest, but he didn’t know what makes him different. Then, he discovers that he is a half-god and his father is none other than Poseidon, the god of sea. So, his mother had to tell him who he is and she had to send him, against her well, to camp half-blood as a final resort to protect him

In the camp, Percy meets a lot of half-bloods and he finds out that he is not the only one out there.

In my opinion, I loved this book so very much, and I am sad that I waited this long to read the book. I love Percy’s character. He is brave, ready to sacrifice himself in order to save his friends and the way he reacts to the situations is funny sometimes, and from reading his character, you sense that you are reading from the point of view of a twelve year old kid.

Another important character we have here is, Annabeth. Annabeth is the daughter of Athena, the goddess of wisdom and she is very smart and more mature than Percy but sometimes, you can sense that she is a kid too. Honestly, I loved her character, she is badass and good in thinking on her feet, but at the beginning, I felt that she is annoying and a little bit selfish, but once she warms up to Percy, she start to change and you will instantly fall in love with her. She is like Hermione in Harry Potter. Her existence is important and crucial for the survival of the team. She is the brain of the team.

This book is really great, and the idea of ancient greek gods in the modern world is really great and entertaining, but it has to be done right or it will turn out to be an epic fail like “Gods Behaving Badly” .

Th writing in the book is easy and smooth and I think it’s because it’s written for a younger audience, but that never stopped anyone. I fell in love with the writing, I think that it’s very unique and its simplicity is the best thing about it.

As for the flow of the story, thing happened really fast, but, I didn’t like the book was rushed. Everything happened in the right speed and the right time and that was the best about the book.

If you haven’t read this book yet and you have doubts about it, my advice to you is to pick up the first book and start reading it and if you can’t stop, then go ahead and pick up the rest of the books because I do believe that these books are great and they deserve the hype that built around them.

As for my favorite god in the first book, it is Hades without a doubt. I loved him so much, especially what he did for Percy at the end. That was sweet of him even though he was a pain in the neck. But, when they went to underworld, that was my favorite part in the book.

 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

