Book Reviews

Book Review: The Coven (Sweep #2)

675615

Synopsis (Goodreads): 

I am not who I thought I was. I am not a regular sixteen-year-old girl. I am a witch. A real, ancestral witch. My parents are not my biological parents. My sister and I share no blood.

Even in the coven, I am too powerful now, too different to belong.

I am alone except for Cal. Cal tells me he loves me, and I need to believe him.

The Review: 

The Coven is the second book in the sweep series and in my opinion it was good but there was nothing special about it.

From my point of view, the book seemed like a part of book one but they split the book in half and made them two books. But, all in all, it wasn’t too bad.

In this book, Morgan finds out that she’s actually a blood witch that come from a long line of powerful witches. She also finds out that she is adopted, which made her act in a really crazy way. I found that her reaction was a little bit exaggerated and it sounded a little bit fake for me. I mean, finding that she is adopted is a huge thing, but, she took it as an excuse to do crazy things and it annoyed me.

As for her and Cal, their relationship developed a lot in a very short time. I like their relationship but at the same time, it looks unrealistic to me.

The most annoying thing though is Bree. She and Raven are no longer friends because of Cal, but Bree took the whole things to a whole other extreme. She left their coven and joined another coven where they use dark magic. So, she will use dark magic to revenge from Morgan and Cal! This is a little bit extreme, he is just a boy and her reaction is not realistic AT ALL. Ugh, it annoyed me.

Overall, this book was short and fast paced like the first one. I didn’t feel like there was anything special about it. Am I going to continue with the series? Yes, I will because even with all the flaws, it’s fun to read.

Rating: 3 out 5 stars

Leave a Reply

