Book Reviews

Book Review: Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3)

13206828

Synopsis (Goodreads): 

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

Review:

Reading this book was a struggle for me. I loved Cinder so much, but Scarlet was a disappointment. So, due to that, I didn’t feel encouraged to read cress, especially when it’s a big book and I didn’t want to wast time on it. But, I kept hearing a lot of positive stuff about the book. Everyone seemed to love it.

So, I decided to to finally pick it up after picking it up and putting down 5 or 6 times. But, last month, I decided to pick it up for real and give it a chance, and I am glad that I did.

I can see why the people rave about this book so much and why everyone is so in love with it.

If you didn’t know this, but from the cover you can tell that Cress is a retelling of Rapunzel but the twist is that Cress wasn’t trapped in a tower somewhere, she was trapped on a satellite tower on the moon, which is interesting.

Cress is really sweet and smart. She is amazing with technology and she is kick ass when it needed. I loved her vulnerability a lot, it wasn’t the kind of helpless vulnerability that annoys you as a reader, it was a justified vulnerability, which is something I don’t see a lot in books.

I loved the romance between her and captain Thorn. It was funny, sweet and perfect. I loved his confidence, which was funny sometimes, but I also loved the side of him that the author showed us in this book because before, all we could see from Thorn’s personality is that he is flirty and it wasn’t bad but it made it hard for me as a reader to connect with him in a way. But, this book fixed that problem.

Cinder was a part of this book too, and I loved reading her parts. But, unlike in Scarlet, I found myself more interested in reading about Cress more than knowing what’s going on with Cinder.

The most annoying thing though is Iko. I found her super annoying in this book; she was pushy, silly and annoying in every way (This is how I felt). She wanted to be in the spotlight most of the time, she complains a lot about everything. I loved her in the first book and now she annoys me. Other than that, I loved the book so much, I can see why is it hyped because it totally worth the hype.

If you were like me and felt a little bit hesitant about reading the third book after reading the second one, I advise you to go a head a pick up the book because it’s really good. I am so excited to see what happens in book 4.

Rating: 4.5 out 5 stars

Leave a Reply

