The Reading Corner

What to Read This Summer: 10 books I recommend

Summer is finally here and for me summer is a time to read new books and catch up on the series I am behind in. So, this summer I decided to share with you some of my favorite books that I read. They are not from one specific genre because I tend to get bored if I read only from one genre.

So, let’s get into the books:

#1 Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell 

16068905

I read this book last year and I totally enjoyed it. It’s kind of long but once you get into it, you won’t put it down until you’re done with it. Plus, Rainbow have a really unique writing style that make the whole story believable and makes you relate to the characters in a way.

#2 The Summer Trilogy by Jenny Han

11410104

This trilogy is a standard summer read, it consist of three books that you can marathon them and finish them really fast. Again, I read this book last summer and I fairly enjoyed it even though I felt that it’s slightly overrated but still, it’s a good summer read if you wanted something fluffy and fast paced.

#3 Since You’ve been Gone by Morgan Matson

18189606

Another summery read is Since You’ve Been Gone. last year, I read two of Morgan Matson’s books and I didn’t enjoy them very much. But, this one is totally better and I like it and even though it was long, it’s still a fun read and I enjoyed the friendship in it.

#4 Alif the Unseen by G. Willow Wilson

17794519

I read this book in the beginning of this year and I still can’t get over how amazing it is. I don’t feel like a lot of people know about it and whenever I am asked to recommend a book, I always mention this book because it is AMAZING. So, just go ahead and read it.

#5 The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

5499874

Neil Gaiman have a lot of books and I still didn’t read half of them but I am making my way through them and so far I loved all the ones I read. The reason I chose this one though is because it’s lighter and shorter. Also, you if listened to the audio book, you will have more fun because it’s narrated by Neil Gaiman himself. HOW COOL IS THAT!

#6 Frankenstein by Mary Shelley 

282702

Summer is a perfect time for classics because reading them needs time and concentration and it is hard some times to focus during the academic year. So for me, summer is the best time to read classics. Frankenstein is one of my favorite classics and I am planning to re-read it this summer.

#7 Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout 

18296030

This is the first and the only Jennifer L. Armentrout book I read and I read it last summer. I loved the combination of romance, fantasy and mystery. It’s fun and the mystery is really good and the ending is wow. This book feels like a better version of pretty little liars.

#8 The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan.

3165162

A month ago I started reading this series and I am amazed by it because I keep hearing that it’s good but I never thought that it was that good! But, it is. So, I decided to marathon this series in the summer (I reached book three and I am excited to see where things are going).

#9 Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol 

9615347

This is a graphic novel and graphic novels are perfect for the summer time, especially when you need something to read in between books. I liked this graphic novel, the story is really nice, but the only problem I had with it is that it’s too short. (If you wanted to know more about what I think, check out my review)

#10 Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz 

12000020 (1)

All I can say is that this book is one of my all time favorite books and I can never have enough of it. I love it. Just go ahead and read and if you wanted to know more of what I think about, read my review.

Enjoy your summer reads and feel free to comment if you read or have a question about any of these books :D.

2 thoughts on “What to Read This Summer: 10 books I recommend

  1. I love this list! I can’t wait to read your reviews! I loved Don’t Look Back and Since You’ve Been Gone. They are great contemporaries! Fangirl is one of the best contemporaries, it is so relatable!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much. I am really glad that you loved the blog. I am planning to make another list soon, so look forward for that <3.

      Like

Leave a Reply

