Book Reviews

Book Review: Book of Shadows (Sweep #1)

675614

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Something is happening to me that I don’t understand. I see things, feel things in a new way. I can do things normal people can’t do. Powerful things. Magickal things. It scares me. I never chose to learn witchcraft. But I’m starting to wonder if witchcraft is choosing me.

Review: 

I have just finished reading this book and so I decided to write the review immediately since it’s still fresh in mind.

I heard a lot of good stuff about this series and all the reviews were positive and the people seem to like, so I decided to pick up the first volume, which contains the first three books. I read the first book really fast; in two settings only, and I liked it.

I liked the story, it was interesting, especially that I don’t read a lot of books about witches and magic because I don’t come across them a lot. But, this book was fine and it is a short book, only 176 pages and I liked that about it.

The flow of the story was reasonable, it wasn’t too slow but, it was a little bit fast in some areas. But overall, the speed of the events were good. As for the writing, it was kind of annoying to me. I didn’t like the dialogue part a lot, I felt that it was a little bit fake. I felt that because the characters are teenagers, the author wanted to make them sound like teenagers, but in my opinion she over did it. However, the descriptions were good. I liked them.

I found the explanations on magic are interesting and fun to read. You get a little bit of history of magic and the way they practice it and these kind of stuff, and it’s not like I am into magic or something like that but I enjoyed reading these parts, especially the introductions in the beginning of every chapter.

As for the friendship in this book, we have the main character, Morgan who is really shy and quite, she hate being in the spot-lights and she always kept to herself. Then we have her best friend, Bree, who is totally the opposite. They have been friends for 11 years, but Bree started to develop feeling to Cal, the new guy in school who teach them about magic and Wicca. Morgan also had feeling for Cal but she kept them to herself because of Bree. But, Cal wasn’t paying any attention to Bree, and he seemed to like Morgan more and Bree didn’t like that. So, she had a big fight with her best friend and broke their friendship over this one guy. I didn’t like her at all and I didn’t like her attitude. She is selfish and annoying.

Overall, I liked the book and I am going to continue with the series for sure because it’s fun to read and it’s light and interesting and I want to see where things are going.

Rating: 3.5 out 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

