Book Reviews

Book Review: The Heir

I am back!

It’s been a while since I posted anything in this blog and that because of all the exams and the assignments but now I am done with all these crazy stuff and I am excited to start posting again.

I decided that for my first post in the summer to write a review because I love writing them and so, I will write a book review for “The Heir” by Kiera Cass.

22918050

Synopsis (Goodreads):

 Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it.

 

The review:

The Heir is the forth book in the selection series. If you don’t know anything about the series then go and read my review on the first three books and if you liked it then go ahead and read the series because it’s really fun.

Reading “The Heir” was really entertaining and fun. I read it in-between my finals because I needed something light and amusing but at the same time I needed a book with a little bit of action and I knew that this book would be perfect and it was.

What I liked the most about this book is that it captured the magic of the first book, which is the selection. If you don’t know this but after the first book, the series started to go kind of downhill and picked up a little bit in the third book. But this book had that same aura and atmosphere of the first book and I loved that about it.

I liked that we still get to read about America and Maxon and that we get to see their progress and how their relationship developed. They are still as sweet and charming as ever. However, the main protagonist, their daughter, princess Eadlyn is really annoying, especially in the beginning of the book. She is really spoiled, obnoxious and selfish. Through out this book, you actually start to understand her but for the most part, she is plain annoying because she lives in her own world; in her own bubble and it’s not something the characters in the book only feel but you as a reader also feel it. As a reader I felt that there is a wall between the main protagonist and I (at least that what I felt). Also, I felt that she really didn’t know what she wants, and that she’s lost and don’t know what to do. I really was annoyed with her personality and until the last minute she didn’t change, not a lot. She reminds of America in the second book (Oh god she was so annoying in that book!)

Another thing that I loved is that the characters from the first book, like Marlee, Lucy, Aspen and Carter are still part of the story. They live in the castle and all that but at the same time it doesn’t make sense to me, except for Aspen, the rest don’t have a real part in the book, they are just there.

If you were looking for something fun and fast to read then pick up this book because it’s fast paced and some of the stuff that happen are really funny. So, if you were hesitant whether to read it or not, well then just go ahead and read it.

The book in my opinion doesn’t look like a forth book, it looks like a spin-off novel and it can stand as a series of it own.

 

 Rating: 4 out 5 starts.

Leave a Reply

