Book Reviews

Book Review: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Harry Potter #1)

3

Book Summary (Goodreads): 

Orphan Harry Potter is miserable in an under-stairs closet. Dursleys – his witch mother’s sister, husband, Dudley – held no birthday party for Harry in 11 years. Owls fly notices to attend Hogwarts School. Giant Hagrid brings birthday cake. Wizard Harry flies on broom, hides under Cloak of Invisibility, sneaks past 3-headed dog with friends Hermione and Ron. A great destiny awaits if Harry can survive.

Review: 

Let me start this review by saying that I read Harry Potter for the first time in 2014 but I watched all the movies several times and I adore them all. I can’t say that I grew up with Harry Potter like many others, but I am glad that I am reading it now because I used to think that my moment with reading Harry Potter has passed but i discovered that you can’t read Harry Potter too many times.

Harry Potter book one was the last book I read in 2014 and it was an excellent book to conclude my reading challenge with.

I can proudly say that I loved the book so much, The writing was beautiful and the characters’ voices were clear and you can relate to them. This book is the first book in the series and so it had to be strong to set the world for the coming books and I definitely found that the world building is excellent. I know that I watched the movie and saw the world, but reading the world and imaging it is a whole different experience and it was amazing.

The characters are wonderful and sweet. I love Harry’s innocence, Ron’s ditziness and Hermoine’s brilliance. They are some of the best characters I read. I loved seeing how their friendship formed even with their differences; that was fun to read. Ron is hilarious, he always makes me laugh. It’s annoying how Draco Malfoy is evil in this book, but nonetheless, I love him.

The plot is beautiful and strong and  the way it was executed in was brilliant and smart. It was focused and crisp with no unnecessary descriptions.

I wasn’t sad that I finished the book because I know there are 6 other books that are waiting for me to read.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

