Book Reviews

Book Review: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2)

13206760

Book Synopsis (Goodreads): 

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

Review: 

Scarlet is the second book in the Lunar Chronicles Quartet. Cinder (book one) was great and so based on that, I formed high hopes and expectations for Scarlet but unfortunately, I was slightly disappointed with this books.

The plot of the book was good, I liked that  it was a continuation for the plot of the first book, but it takes place in paris.

The most annoying thing about the book is the main character, Scarlet. As a character, I found her really annoying, selfish and self centered. Reading her parts wasn’t fun at all. But, thank god that the book was told from alternating point of views and we got to see what happened to Cinder after the first book and I loved reading her parts so much because Cinder is my favorite character so far.

I liked the way that the two point of views (Scarlet’s and Cinder’s) were separate first and then as you progress with the book they get closer and closer until they overlap with each other. That was fun to read and I think that when the parts overlapped, reading the book wasn’t bad because before, I was anticipating Cinder’s part but now Cinder is almost in every part and she added more excitement to the story.

As for the story flow, I found it a little bit slow. In the first book it was slow, but only for the first 50 pages or so. But, for this one it was slow through out the whole book. However, the ending was so exciting and was so good.

I didn’t really like the romance between Scarlet and Wolf, I found it weird and annoying. I don’t how to describe it, but I really didn’t buy the romance between them, it wasn’t convincing for me. Also, I felt that the whole wolf alpha pack thing was added there in order to fit in the red riding hood fairy-tale retelling and their existence wasn’t necessary.

I had higher expectations for this book, but it kind of let me down. It wasn’t that bad but the main characters of this book were annoying.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

