Book Reviews

Lola and the boy next door

9961796

Book Summary (Goodreads):

Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Review:

After reading Anna and the French Kiss, I was excited to get into this book and read the story of Lola Nolan and to say the truth, I loved this book more than I loved Anna.

Lola and the boy next door is set in San Fransisco. I will have to say that I loved Lola so much. I loved her personality, I loved her costumes. I loved that she loved to dress up and change her look everyday. It’s a really clever way of escaping reality to be honest. Lola is nice and sweet but a little bit naive I have to say but she is a teenager, so who would blame her.

For me, Cricket looked a little bit weak. In the book he was introduced as the sister of Calliope who is a famous ice skater and for a long time, Cricket lived in the shadows of his sister, but then when they grew up, he decided to have a life of his own. But, from reading his character, I felt that sometimes he was still living in the shadows of his sister and that he always had to make sacrifices when it come to his sister. Nonetheless, I adored how sweet and innocent he is. His relationship with lola wasn’t moving too fast and it took its time to develop and move forward and it made sense. The awkwardness between them in the first few chapters was epic, I loved reading those parts.

I loved that her two dads were a big part of her life and not just in the background like in some contemporary books. She respected them and respected their opinion, even though she would be upset with them sometimes.

Another thing I loved about the books is that Anna and St Clair from the first book where secondary characters. I loved seeing how their relationship grew and how they changed. I got to know more things about them from reading them as secondary characters.

Stephanie Perkins is brilliant when it comes to describing places. She would draw the most beautiful pictures of the places, especially the Japanese Tea Garden (I think that’s the name). I loved that place, I wanted to be there and just sit and stare at the beautiful garden. I loved the house, Lola’s room and everything else.

This is my favorite book in the trilogy and I think that it’s the best one. But, I feel that people are shedding the lights on Anna and the French Kiss and forgetting Lola and the Boy Next door in the background, but when they get to it, they become amazed by how awesome it is.

I read this book in 2014 and it’s one of my favorite contemporaries.

Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Lola and the boy next door

Leave a Reply

