Book Reviews

Book Review: The five people you meet in heaven

40436

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Eddie is a wounded war veteran, an old man who has lived, in his mind, an uninspired life. His job is fixing rides at a seaside amusement park. On his 83rd birthday, a tragic accident kills him as he tries to save a little girl from a falling cart. He awakes in the afterlife, where he learns that heaven is not a destination, but an answer.

Review: 

I read this book way back in 2013 and since then I re-read it three time because it was that good. This book is my first my experience with Mitch Albom books. Before I bought this book, I remember seeing it in the bookstore whenever I go there, and every time I decide to buy it, I would come up with an excuse to not buy it. But, a month later, I gave up. I couldn’t ignore the book anymore plus the name of the book was so interesting and made me want to see what is this book is actually about? So, I bought it and started reading it and I couldn’t put it down. 

The book starts with a countdown of the last 40 minutes of Eddie’s life, and it tells you a little bit about Eddie without giving too much information, then in the last minute, you see how Eddie dies and what happens next, which the part that the book is focused on. I loved the story of the book; it’s creative, new and make you think. 

In the book, after Eddie dies, he meets five people in heaven, and some of these people he don’t know who they are. But, he met them there for a reason and that reason is that he had an influence on their lives even though he didn’t know them and never met them. It just makes you think of the possibility that you might have an influence on a stranger’s life with your actions. You might not see an importance in that but it might be something that change their lives or change their perspective of life. 

Another beautiful thing about this book is the writing. Mitch Albom has a captivating, poetic writing style that makes every word special, important and sink into your soul. I love how his books are about regular, every day people that you can relate to. They have flaws and insecurities but they always find a way to redeem themselves. 

This book is a short book and I love that about it because no extra unnecessary details were added just to fill the gap and I love that about books in general because it make perfect and easy to read. The book is classified as an adult book but I highly recommend this book to everyone because it is simply awesome. 

Favorite Quotes: 

“Sometimes when you sacrifice something precious, you’re not really losing it. You’re just passing it on to someone else.”

“Each affects the other, and the other affects the next, and the world is full of stories, but the stories are all one.”

“Death doesn’t just take someone, it misses someone else, and in the small distance between being taken and being missed, lives are changed.”

“Things that happen before you are born still affect you and people who come before your time affect you as well.” 

“Silence is worse when you know it won’t be broken.”

Rating: 

5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

