Book Reviews

Book Review: Gods behaving Badly

 

2365897

 

Goodreads Synopsis: 

Being a Greek god is not all it once was. Yes, the twelve gods of Olympus are alive and well in the twenty-first century, but they are crammed together in a London townhouse–and none too happy about it. And they’ve had to get day jobs: Artemis as a dog-walker, Apollo as a TV psychic, Aphrodite as a phone sex operator, Dionysus as a DJ.

Even more disturbingly, their powers are waning, and even turning mortals into trees–a favourite pastime of Apollo’s–is sapping their vital reserves of strength.

Soon, what begins as a minor squabble between Aphrodite and Apollo escalates into an epic battle of wills. Two perplexed humans, Alice and Neil, who are caught in the crossfire, must fear not only for their own lives, but for the survival of humankind. Nothing less than a true act of heroism is needed-but can these two decidedly ordinary people replicate the feats of the mythical heroes and save the world?

Review: 

The synopsis of the books really hooked me because I didn’t read a book with such a storyline, so I was excited to read it.The first few pages were exciting because I was excited. However, soon enough I started to notice how bad actually the book is. The story was not as good as the synopsis promised.

Lets start with the world building and the flow of the story. There wasn’t any actual world building in the book because these god lived on the 21st century, and they lived together in one house that no one was allowed to get in to without any permission. The house wasn’t described in a good way because even if they are now living with mortals, they are still gods, and you would expect to them to live in somewhat glorified place, but they weren’t. They lived in this really dirty place, and it wasn’t well described. As for the flow, things happened in a sequence, however, I felt the events were rushed rushed, and they didn’t make sense.

The characters were not relatable at all, They are gods, and they do live in our time, but they were supposed to act like normal people, which they failed in. Apollo, the main character is a character that I really hated. I don’t know what can I say about this character except that I really hated it. I am not going to go through all the characters because there are a lot of them, and they all sucked, and they need to find a new hobby other than having sex. Seriously get a hobby.

As for the creativity, I thought the premise of the book is actually creative, but the execution of the story was bad, I think if it was done right, it will be good. But, it was purely bad.

Overall, I hated this book so much.

Rating: 1 out of 5

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Gods behaving Badly

  1. I heared many good thing about this book, sorry you didn’t like it .. I’m planning to read it this month so I will see for myself how good this book is 😀

    Like

    1. I totally agree with you, read it before you judge it and erase everything you heard about the book from your brain and start with a clean fresh open mind. I hope you like it, and if you didn’t, you will at least have something to base your judgment on it. ;D

      Like

Leave a Reply

