Book Reviews

Book review: Beautiful Disaster

15749887

When I first stumbled on this book a year ago, I wasn’t excited to read it at all. But, something has changed last week and I don’t know what was it, but I felt like I wanted to read this book right now, so I went and bought it, and I started reading it immediately, and I am so happy that I did.

Beautiful Disaster is a contemporary romance novel that’s written by Jamie McGuire. The book was first published in August 14th, 2012.

The story is about Abby Abernathy and Travis Maddox. Abby is a perfect girl who don’t do anything bad, but she has her own dark past that she tries hard to run away from. Travis is the typical image of a bad boy, with a body that’s covered in tattoos. One day, Travis made a bet with Abby and he won. Since that minute everything has changed.

Honestly, I enjoyed reading the book so much. I was kind of going through a phase were I thought that I might be getting into a reading slump, but thank god I read this book. I got into this book with a mediocre hopes because since this year started, I haven’t been lucky with my choices of contemporary books, but this book gave me hope in contemporaries again. I liked the characters, even though I felt that Abby is slightly fickle minded, which annoyed me at certain points of the story. I felt like she don’t know what to do, and how to act sometimes, but other than that, I liked her.

Travis from my point of view was amazing, I really enjoyed reading and getting to know his character. He is one of those bad boys who aren’t actually bad, it just that people don’t get the chance to really know him, and he doesn’t open up to people at all. Even though I enjoyed reading his character, he had one major flow, he was super possessive, which can be really annoying.

The speed of the book was rational, it wasn’t moving too fast or too slow. But, I felt that the speed of the emotions were fast, he fell in love with Abby in just like 30 seconds! But nonetheless, it was cool.

The book is rated as a young adult, but I think it’s more of an adult book. Reading this novel made feel like I was reading a Colleen Hoover book and I highly enjoy her books.

Overall, this book was great, fun and fast paced with great main protagonists and amazing secondary characters.

Rating: 4.2/5

Leave a Reply

