My Writings

A day of pride

March 11, 2015 was an exciting day that’s full of new experiences. On Wednesday, I had a full day of classes from 9:30-4:20, but I had to cut my day short and leave the campus at 1:00 because I had an important ceremony to attend.

Last summer, I got the chance to go to Scotland as a part Al Maktoum Summer Study Program in Scotland, and it was fantastic. I was one of the two girls from the Dubai campus that were accepted into the program, and at that moment I was proud of myself. The trip was great, but what made it even better is that I got the chance to go with a very good friend of mine. In the trip I got the chance to meet 5 of the Abu Dhabi girls, and they were so sweet, and we ended up having the best time together.

On Wednesday, March 11, 2015, I was reunited with these girls, and it was great seeing them. The ceremony started at around 7:50, but we were asked to come early, and I was the first one to be there. When I arrived I felt excited and nervous because everything was so grand and fabulous. 15 minutes later, my friend arrived, and I was so happy to see her. Shortly after we got together, journalists started approaching us asking for interviews, quotes and pictures, and I had to fake smile a lot, and by the end of the ceremony, my was face hurt because of all the smiling. But, it was overwhelming, exciting and a new experience.

At around 7:50, everyone was in their place, and the ceremony started. A Scottish back piper led the way followed by Hiss Highness Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Sheikh Nahyan bin Mubarak Al Nahyan, Sheikh Hamdan bin Mubarak Al Nahyan and Sheikha Lubna Al Qassimi, and a number of important guests including the presidents and the provosts of the institutions that are part of the program, Like: Zayed University, Higher Colleges of Technology, and Dubai Courts.

After the sheikh and his guest settled, the national anthem of the United Arab Emirates was played followed by a documentary of our time in Scotland, which made me feel nostalgic. After the documentary, a girl from each of the 9 institutions that are part of the program got the chance to say a speech on behalf of the other girls. Then, his highness sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum gave a short motivational speech to the girls. After that, each institution got the chance to give a gift the his highness, and I was the one who give the gift to his highness on behalf of my university, Zayed University, and that moment made feel proud of myself.

Led by the back piper, the sheikh and his guests left, and the dinner was served, which was delicious. Then each one of us went to her home knowing that the memory of this day will be forever engraved in her mind.

That day I felt proud and accomplished, and it was a motivation for me to work even harder in the future, grabbing every chance I get.

 

Leave a Reply

